“What’s the freaking difference?” Response to Amelia’s Passionate Comments on Christianity

My dear friend from college, Amelia, posted a comment publicly on Facebook yesterday:

I’m confused. So, do you follow Jesus? Or not? And how does following Jesus make you not a Christian? What’s the freaking difference? I mean, we’ve all gone through times when we didn’t particularly like the Bible… I just feel like saying things like “I’ve left Christianity” followed by “I LOVE Jesus!” …. It’s incongruous and makes me feel like there’s a little web being spun (through you, not purposefully by you) and really you’re still confused yourself.

This is good stuff Amelia has brought up. It obviously really strikes a chord with some people, to separate Jesus from Christianity, and yet that is one of the things I am passionate to do. There is a strong attachment to the label of Christianity, which in most cases has way more involved in it than just ‘following Jesus’. I have a passion to separate the heart from the skin, the truth from the illusion, the person from the structures.

Do you think Jesus is as attached to the label of Christianity, the culture of Christianity, the religion of Christianity as you are?

I don’t think Jesus cares about Christianity at all. That’s something we created. (He cares about people, not the way we’ve organized our intention to follow him).

I would challenge you to ask yourself why it bothers you that I have chosen a unique path that doesn’t fit in your grid?

I do love Jesus and follow a lot of his teachings that resonate with me, and yet:

1. I am not involved in church

2. I don’t think the Bible is absolute truth (it is full of treasure, if you have spiritual ears to hear it)

3. I think Jesus came to show us the way to our highest potential, to show us our own magnificence and power — not to save us from our sins

These are major reasons why I don’t call myself a Christian.

I am not confused.

I have spent years on a passionate journey of discovery, excavating the real, powerful Jesus from this religion that I’ve followed most of my life.

And if you’ve read all of my blog posts, you know that I honor and respect anyone who loves Christianity and finds fulfillment within it.

I am speaking boldly about this because I’ve found something in my own life journey that has led me to more passion, joy, and love than I personally experienced within Christianity.

How can you not share something with others that has brought you so much LIFE?

There are obviously many Christians who are completely fulfilled and are living powerful lives of love which do exemplify the powerful essence of Jesus.

This is GREAT and I fully support these people on their paths!

It really doesn’t matter what we call ourselves, if we are living powerful lives of LOVE!

When we talk about Christianity, we are talking about a huge group of people all over the world, with a multitude of differing definitions of this word.

My personal journey has led me on a unique path, and I’m excited to have moved beyond this label. I don’t think it offends Jesus at all.

We need to get beyond labels, beyond organizations, beyond structures, beyond beliefs, beyond our attachment to all of these mental constructs that keep us from fully living and fully loving.

I am not a Christian, but I do seek to be Christ-like.

And I again leave you today with my personal definition of what it means to be Christ-like:

To love without condition, looking straight to the heart, and to fully and fearlessly be who we really are!

I love you!

Noelle

6 thoughts on ““What’s the freaking difference?” Response to Amelia’s Passionate Comments on Christianity

  1. Hi, this is Melody’s husband. I agree with your statement that Jesus is more important than what we call Christianity. To be sure, we as sinful human beings have gone off on tangents. Please be careful; your ‘gospel’ appears to be very ‘man exalting’ (e.g. we don’t need to be saved, but rather be fully who we are) as opposed to being ‘Christ exalting’ (through Him all things were created, the Lamb who was slain from the foundation of the world, and to reconcile all things to Himself.) Peace.

    • What evidence outside of the Christian bible do you have that we’re “sinful human beings”? That theology is based on the premise that the first nine chapters of Genesis are historically factual… and yet it’s clear from many different viewpoints that it’s entirely mythological. Believe what you like, but if there was no “original sin” then what’s the problem? Why can’t we just be humans doing the best we can without being arbitrarily saddled with externalized guilt and shame?

    • Hi Erik – Thanks for your comment! Yes, my gospel and message are definitely ‘man exalting’, you hit it on the head. I’m very passionate about this truth! I think we have missed the point of Jesus, which was to show us who we really are as humans: magnificent, powerful, limitless, divine. I understand that these thoughts sound demonic or scary to the Christian lens, because we have always been taught that Jesus is our savior from our sinful nature. That we are nothing, and he is everything. I’m not trying to bring Jesus down, I’m trying to get us to see that we are just like him – that’s what I believe he was showing us through his words and powerful actions.It is precisely this lie that we are inherently sinful that keeps us from rising to our true identities, and actually living lives of power like Jesus did. Why would he tell us that we would do greater things than he did on the earth, if our essence was any different or ‘lower’ than his was? Doing flows out of Being. If we’re gonna do even greater things, than we are definitely not lower in our identity than Jesus. Even before he died, he told everyone that the kingdom of God was within each person. He wanted us to see who we really are! When we see who we are, it changes everything. The only thing keeping us down, is this lie that we are sinful at our core. He is the Son of God, and so are YOU! Peace!

      • Everything that we can observe around us was separated from God since the beginning, which is why there is pain and suffering in the world. Hence we too could not avoid doing things that might cause somebody, or some animal to suffer (which is what we might understand as sinning). However, God has made provision for us to come out of that separation from Him. If we acknowledge that separation and also believe that Jesus was His Son we come out of separation into the Presence of God and can receive His guidance. This is what has previously been understood as counselling/comforting by the Holy Spirit. With God’s guidance, we can do what Jesus did, in the same way that he did it: by trusting God and doing what He tells us to do.

Leave a Reply

