Why I’m Thankful for Homosexuality (#5 of 10 Things My Hero Jesus Wants To Say To Christians)

My entire life as a Bible-believing Evangelical Christian, I was taught that homosexuality was a sin. While Jesus never specifically mentioned it at all, the Apostle Paul did a LOT. He called it out very specifically several times in his New Testament writings. If you accept the Bible as the perfect, infallible Word of God, you have to accept the clear teaching that acting on homosexual desires is a sin and deserving of the wrath of God. I grew up looking at gay people as damaged and lost, because that is what I was taught my entire life.

As my personal journey has led me on a path of spiritual awakening and discovery, beyond Christianity, I have dismantled this distorted belief and view of homosexuality.

I want to take a moment to apologize to all gay people, on behalf of Christianity, for this very narrow, unenlightened, judgmental, limiting perspective that we have, as a religion and culture, placed on you.
I’m deeply saddened by our spiritual blindness in this area, and now that I can SEE and am fully awake to the truth, I have a personal mission to wake up the world and illuminate this very important topic in the true Light of Love.

Here are my current thoughts on homosexuality:

1) Our true essence is Spirit, not physical, so to focus on our bodies blinds us to our True Identity

I understand that 2 men or 2 women having sex doesn’t biologically seem to make sense.  And if the physical was the only aspect of who we are, I could understand how the biological perspective would cause people to judge this as ‘unnatural’ or ‘wrong’. But we are not just physical. In fact, the physical part of who we are is the least important part. Our bodies decay and grow old, but our spirits don’t. Our spirits are eternal. Sex is great and pleasurable, but it is not a vitally important part of our lives. Obviously, people need to procreate in order for the human race to continue, but we don’t seem to have a problem populating the planet, do we? There are many people who have very little sex in their lifetimes, and they live completely fulfilled lives. If we could focus more on our internal spiritual lives, we would see our true essence, our desire to give and receive love, and we would realize that however that manifests physically is not really that important. We would see that 2 people loving each other is beautiful, regardless of gender. Their spirits are who they really are. Love is LOVE is LOVE.

2) We are basically good, not sinful, so we need to TRUST each person’s unique journey

I know gay men who are Christians, who think (because of the Bible) that their attraction to men is sinful, and so they try very hard not to act on their desires. But they have told me that they knew from the earliest age that they were attracted to men, not women. It’s not something they chose, and it became something they despised because they’ve been taught their whole lives that to act on their desires would be sinful. This is heart-breaking!! We need to move past this limiting thinking, and start honoring that each human being is a spirit, is good, is LOVE, and needs to be trusted with following his/her unique journey on this earth!

3) Loving and accepting someone whose journey is SO different from mine, causes me to open my heart to greater recesses of LOVE than I ever knew possible

I’m thankful for homosexuality, because it forces me to look beyond my personal grid. It causes me to expand my vision. To open my heart. When you start trusting everyone to their own journeys, you lose your fear for people, and you begin to realize that you can trust in LOVE to guide each person to his/her own wonderful destiny, whatever that looks like. It’s not my job to judge WHO someone else wants to share their life with. All this comes down to, is LOVE, and TRUST. There are so many examples of same-sex couples who live long, fulfilled, beautiful lives together and exude the very essence of what it means to be Christ-like.

I am SO impressed by gay people who are brave enough to announce to the world that they are embracing their desires and their destinies on this earth. This takes guts! I honor everyone who is courageous enough to be fully authentic, in the midst of so much judgment. You inspire ME with your courage!!

So I leave you again today with my personal definition of what it means to be Christ-like:

To love without condition, looking straight to the heart, and to fully and fearlessly be who we really are!

photo credit: David Goehring

3 thoughts on “Why I’m Thankful for Homosexuality (#5 of 10 Things My Hero Jesus Wants To Say To Christians)

  1. In my college years I was friends with many Gays and Lesbians. I found that they were No better or worst in any way than anyone else I knew. The only thing different is who they are attracted to.

  2. Many of my gay ex-Christian friends and I wonder if we would’ve stayed Christians if we’d been straight. Our “otherness” caused us to question the teachings we’d been raised with, and once you start to ask fundamental questions about the nature of what we know and how we know it, there’s no going back. For me, my journey out of religion began with accepting that, whether genetic or pre-natal, my sexuality is an intrinsic part of who I am as a human being. and each of us deserves the chance to pursue a life of happiness with the partner of our choice. And given the kind of universe we love in, if there is a god, it’s simply inconceivable that he/she/it would be as hung up on genetalia and people’s sex lives as evangelical Christians seem to be. As theologian Virginia Mollenkott once said: “Take a good look at the creation. Apparently the Creator likes diversity a lot more than we human beings do.”

    • GREAT comment – I wholeheartedly agree David! I’m SO happy that you are no longer imprisoned by what anyone else says about what is good or bad for you. As difficult as it was for me to extricate myself from the lie that ‘we are inherently sinful’, I can only IMAGINE how difficult it would be for someone whose very sexuality was condemned as evil. I think you are a beacon of hope to gay men who are still locked in the shame of the Christian closet. It’s time to embrace our diversity and stop judging each other for our unique journeys!

Leave a Reply

