It’s My Birthday: I Can Cry If I Want To

Image Credit: Arun Anand

The tears I cried on the way to my birthday breakfast with my mom yesterday were not sad tears. I wept for joy because I received a VERY unique gift from a Facebook friend.

This is a special birthday, because it’s my first birthday after ‘coming out’ spiritually to the world. I have shed my skin, come out of the cocoon, and in this blog I have revealed my soul in total transparency, holding nothing back.

So this birthday feels very different because I am not hiding anything. I am living a transparent, authentic life. Even my connections online are more authentic. They are not based on an outdated idea that people have in their minds about who I am – they are not based on the mask I always wore.  Anyone who has taken the time to read even one of my blog posts, knows something about the REAL me.  And that makes me feel whole and connected.

I woke up yesterday to lots of birthday messages, and one in particular cut straight to my heart. It was from my new Facebook friend, Eric Nzohabonayo, from Burundi, Africa.

Eric N

We have connected online through my music recently, because he is also a musician and used to write music, and has been inspired to start writing again. Soon we are going to collaborate on a song – he will write the lyrics and I will set it to music and sing it, in both English and French (his main language).  Good thing I know how to sing in French!

I don’t personally know Eric, other than through this online forum, and so the present I got from him yesterday — a personalized poem — was powerful. It felt like God speaking straight to me. It made me feel so special, so loved by God and the universe, so affirmed in my identity and purpose.  It awakened me, emboldened me, and hit me at just the right moment when I needed encouragement.

I can’t describe how LOVED this made me feel – the deep, gut-wrenching unconditional love of God that affirms you – the love that lets you know that you are HOME, that your true identity is amazing and magnificent, that there is nothing wrong with you, the love that lets you know you have a powerful purpose, that you are not alone – it’s an INDESCRIBABLE experience!!!

As you read the words he wrote to me, imagine what it would be like to receive this from someone across the globe you hardly know – how would it make YOU feel?

Before you were born
Your name was there
GOD knew you well
Your personality was in his hands
This is a time to thank GOD
Stand and worship him
Dance and sing

Happy birth day (x2)
Noelle Marie Amendola
A light in darkness
A diamond in dust
You’re up never be down

A joy in a heaven
A joy in a family
A joy for us
Let us all dance
Sing and worship GOD
With joy, stand sing . . . .

Happy birth day (x2)
Noelle Marie Amendola
A light in darkness
A diamond in dust
You’re up never be down

Be you Noelle Marie forever
Never be bad or hopeless
You’re who you are
Heart of blessing
Heart of humanity
We’re proud of you

Happy birth day (x2)
Noelle Marie Amendola
A light in darkness
A diamond in dust
You’re up never be down

-Written by Eric Nzohabonayo

It cuts straight to my heart! I cry every time I read it.

So powerful, and such confirmation of my idea to do personalized songs for people. This incredible gift I received from Eric yesterday is EXACTLY the feeling I want to give to people.  From the bottom of my heart, Eric, THANK YOU for this magnificent gift.

So again, with more joy and passion for this idea than EVER, having personally experienced the power of it, I offer you my idea to write a song for someone you love.

Do you know someone with a birthday coming up who you want to bless in a more powerful and unique way than you ever imagined?

Let me write them a song and sing it on YouTube!

We can work together to bless people – I want everyone to have the gift of LOVE that I felt yesterday on my birthday.

Email me at noellemarie2@hotmail.com.

And who knows, maybe YOU will be next?

Leave a Reply

